A new day!

Sorry to have been away for a while.  I had a great time at the Governors Planning Council for People with Disabilities convention in November.  I learned a lot.  The main thing I learned about was framing your letters, multi-media, PSA (public service announcements), social media, and commercials for the whole community and not just one special plea.  Thinking about what to get across about the project, event, or organization   in a whole concept instead of using one person and making them a victom  for the cause.  All this does is get donations and most people do not even know what the project or organization   is.  It is not that money is not needed; but I really think that education about a problem will help to make changes.  Then there is organization    recognition;  I do not know any organization    that does not need to be known.

Today I attended a webinar at IPFW today sponsored by Back Home in Indiana Alliance on the Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP).  This is about tax breaks for housing projects.  Back Home in Indiana Alliance has been advocating for affordable, accessible, safe, integrated housing for persons with very low income.  This is one way.  Having extra points for having rental units for at or below 30% of AMI(area median income).  The QAP is a 2 year plan that asks for public input every 2 years.  The next one will be in the spring of 2013.

I also went to a NFB Fort Wayne Chapter meeting.  We are a new chapter, but have such vision for where we want to go.    Education, independence, and legislation advocacy are all on tap.  We will be more active within our community so look for us.  www.nfbfortwayne.org is our website.  More information is here.

I have also been working on crochet projects.  I had an order for 5 beret hats and 5 scarves with only one month to get them done on top of the Christmas presents I made in-between.  When I figure out how to insert photos here, I will show you some of my projects.  I love to crochet.    It is one thing that can calm me down after a very long day.

Leave a Reply

